Friday, August 30, 2013

Miley Cyrus

Alright sooooo... everyone has been talking about Miley Cyrus lately. And by everyone, I mean everyone.

 Honestly, I don't think that it is my position to judge her. I mean, I would never wear a rat suit that half of my butt popped out of but... that's her. If she wants to do that, she can. I'm not saying that I would do it, I'm not saying that you should do it. I'm just saying that if she wants to do it, everyone should just leave her alone and let her do it.

Because, let's face it, how many of us haven't made questionable decisions? Hmmmmm? Now if you just thought "Oh but I have never made a questionable decision!" Let's take a trip down memory lane, shall we?

That shirt that you wore on the first day of sixth grade, yes, that one. What do you think of it now? What about your hair that year? Hmmmm? Do you like it? What about the sparkly shoes that you wore in fourth grade? Cute then... but now? Yeah, that's what I thought.

So you don't think that later she will look back and give herself H-E-double hockeysticks? Do you really think that she needs you to do that for her? I think that we all just need to leave her alone. When you had that bad hair, or that horrible shirt, would you have wanted the whole world talking about it? Would you want the whole world making fun of you for it?

And by the way, I happen to LOVE Miley's hair. I know everyone is all up in arms about it because it's "too rebel" but I wish that I had the courage to go and do that! Do you even know how long that would chop off of your morning routine??

So yeah, that's what I have to say about Miley Cyrus.

Blog Facelift Part 2

I changed the font and colors of the blog so that maybe it will be easier to read :) Have a fab-you-lous day!

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Summer-Fall Transition

The transition from Summer to Fall is always sort of depressing for me... goodbye shorts and tank tops, you will be missed! However... Winter clothes are more flattering on me so I guess that it all balances out, right? Or at least that's what I keep telling myself...

But anyway, back to Fall. I think that Fall is the hardest season to dress for, Spring coming in at a close second. Because in Fall you want to keep wearing your shorts... but you'll freeze. Usually. It all depends on where you live. The first day of Fall is September 22nd.

It's too warm to wear long sleeves and jeans, but it's too cold to wear your summer outfits... here's what I do:

  • Shorts with a long-sleeve shirt
  • Sundresses with cardigans
  • Skinny jeans with flowy tank tops
  • Capris with tee-shirts
  • Boots with skirts and dresses (NOT UGG BOOTS)
Here's what I don't do:
  • Ugg boots with shorts
  • Ugg boots with dresses
  • Tights under shorts
But the one that bugs me more than any other, SHORTS AND TIGHTS. TOGETHER. No no no no no no no no. I usually try not to bag on fashion trends because I'm all about expressing yourself but... I just can't get behind shorts with tights. I'm sorry. If you want to wear them, that's fine, wear them as much as you want. Just know, that if you ever see someone out and about that looks like me and is wearing shorts and tights... it's not me. Case closed.

Monday, August 26, 2013

Books for Tween Readers

I've always loved to read. When I was younger that was all I did... so I am going to share some of my favorites from when I was around 10 or 11.

Penny From Heaven  By: Jennifer L. Holm
Esperanza Rising By: Pam Munoz Ryan
The Mysterious Benedict Society By: Trenton Lee Stewart (I was obsessed people, obsessed)
Fablehaven By: Brandon Mull (Great for older readers too, I may or may not be re-reading them right now... I couldn't rightly say)
Percy Jackson By: Rick Riordan
The Penderwicks By: Jeanne Birdsall
Ten Rules for Living With My Sister By: Ann M. Martin
The Babysitters Club By: Ann M. Martin
Rules By: Cynthia Lord
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid By: Jeff Kinney
Dork Diaries By: Rachel Renee Russell

Saturday, August 24, 2013

Updates

I'm still in love with my Philosophy lipshines. I really want to try the Cinnamon Buns and the Fresh Cream.

I still love bronzer... I guess I just feel like it makes me look orange, no matter what I do. I think it's just me but ya know... I skip it now. It's a personal preference, really.

I'm still horrible at putting on blush, of any kind.

I still love reading! I promise that the book lists will not end! It's just that I've been so busy. I guess I could make a list of books that I liked when I was 8-10... in case I have any young readers or people who are looking for gifts for young readers.

I listen to the same songs over and over again so that's why there hasn't been any update on my top 25 most played.

And mascara... I found that I could never find a good drugstore mascara that I liked, and by buying a million different cheap ones, I could just buy the more expensive one that I LOVE and save money in the long run.

I still love EOS lipbalm

I think that about covers it!

Thursday, August 22, 2013

DIY Project

I've been wanting to try something: using a hiking clip thingie like this

source

And then put my rubber bands on it so that they are all in one place and easy to travel with... thoughts?

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Haircut!

I cut my hair about a month ago... annnnnd... I love it. My hair is really fine but I have A LOT of it, and it was always flat. No matter what I did. I tried volumizer, I tried blowdrying it upside down (yes, I was that desperate), I tried scrunching it, I tried different brushes, I tried everything short of a perm. Seriously. It was that bad. It's so much fuller and shinier and altogether so much healthier than it was before!

Before:
 
After:
 
What do you guys think? 


Sunday, August 18, 2013

101 Things About Me

In honor of this being my 101(st? th?) post, I thought that I would share 101 things about me... oi vay... I don't think I'm that interesting but here ya go!

1. My favorite color is pink
2. My second favorite color is Tiffany blue
3. My third favorite color is sunshine yellow (not to be confused with lemon yellow. They are two totally different things, okay???)
4. I read blogs. Every single solitary day
5. I am addicted to reality TV
6. I refuse to wear my hair down if I don't straighten it... this usually results in a lot of ponytail days because I don't have time to straighten it everyday
7. I sleep-walk. And sleep-talk. And sleep-yell.
8. I am addicted to makeup. It's not even funny...
9. I have a yorkie
10. And another yorkie
11. And a shih-Tzu
12. I am terrible at coming up with dog names... therefore, I have not named any of our dogs. Not a single one.
13. I am terrified of spiders. And bugs. If you hear me scream, there is a 99% chance that I saw a tiny spider, and flipped. the. heck. out.
14. I can never get up when the alarm goes off (See number 6)
15. I never hit the snooze button... I reset the alarm instead (See numbers 6 and 14)
16. I have made one YouTube video... I intend to make more I just haven't had time!
17. I sleep like the dead. Seriously.
18. When I wake up... give me at lease 30 minutes. Otherwise, I can't be responsible for what happens to you
19. I use hot pink, purple, orange, and Tiffany blue gel pens for everything
20. I'm struggling to come up with 101 things
21. I plan to adopt a child(ren) with Down syndrome when I am an adult
22. I love sparkles
23. I love perfume
24. I have wayyyy too many tubes of half-empty lipgloss
25. I love to write
26. My handwriting is horrible
27. I don't like Candy Crush (stop glaring at me through the screen... I know, I know, "how can you not like Candy Crush????")
28. I don't see the point of Candy Crush- I mean, unless I get a magical unicorn/dragon baby... why am I playing?
29. My shih-Tzu has a hot pink tail
30. I wear glasses
31. I've tried contacts and I reeealllllyyyyy hate them
32. My motivation for contacts may have been so that I could wear colored ones... I couldn't rightly say
33. I am addicted to The Fosters
34. I am seriously regretting deciding to do this "101 Things"
35. I am terrible with computers. I can work Facebook, blogger, Microsoft Word, and Powerpoint. That's it.
36. I couldn't live without my phone
37. I read every night until I am so tired that I can barely hold my phone up... and then I roll over so I can prop my phone up and it requires no energy
38. I am a night owl
39. Chocolate is not my favorite thing... I really only eat Kit Kat and white chocolate
40. My favorite flavor candy is Blue Raspberry
41. I don't think that there is a such thing as a blue raspberry... is there?
42. This is taking me forever
43. I love bows. Hairbows, bows on jewelry... bows in general
44. I am addicted to the Mystery ID channel
45. I love butterflies
46. Ever since an unfortunate incident in 3rd grade, I am terrified of ladybugs
47. Just the thought of a ladybug gives me the creeps
48. I am allergic to mosquito bites- they get really swollen and sometimes blister
49. I. hate. cough. drops. Especially cherry. Ewwwwwwwwww
50. I would rather cough up a lung than use a cough drop (it drives my mom crazy)
51. I really don't like cleaning
52. My room is usually pretty messy
53. My smallest dog is under 5 pounds
54. Said smallest dog hates me
55. I was terrible at French- therefore I am switching to Spanish
56. Murder shows don't bother me- ghosts, spirits, and demons? I turn into a baby. And flip out.
57. All of my favorite foods are carbs (sigh)
58. I was a total slacker at the beginning of this blog, but am no longer a slacker! Or try not to be anyway...
59. I love Instagram but I try not to post more than 2-3 times per week, because I never want to be that person (Admit it, someone's name just popped into your head)
60. The dog that sleeps in my room, snores really loudly. So sometimes, I may or may not nudge her crate just a little bit to wake her up so that I can fall asleep. Maybe.
61. I can never think of a good idea for a post so I apologize if they are lame!
62. I don't read any fashion blogs, I never want someone to be able to say that I stole their idea. So if I don't read them, there are no ideas to steal!
63. My biggest pet peeve is the r-word
64. My second biggest pet peeve is chewing loudly/chewing with your mouth open. Ugh, nasty!
65. When some of my favorite blogs have a new post, I have to resist the urge to do a happy dance
66. I'm realllllllllly picky. Sometimes it embarrasses people... hehe
67. I will not eat pork. Unless its my grandpa's pulled pork. But that's it.
68. I am currently writing a novel
69. This is probably going to be the longest blog post that I have ever written
70. I don't even think that there are enough things about me to make my goal of 101
71. It takes a lot to make me mad, but once I'm mad... I'm like a fire-breathing-dragon
72. I am tired, but if I nap I won't sleep tonight
73. I just ate a Whatchamacallit (sp?) bar, and despite the chocolate, I really liked it!
74. I apologize for any typos, because I don't know if I am going to go back through and proofread this
75. If you are reading this, thank you. You are a greater person than I
76. Just the mention of Laurie Halse-Anderson's Fever 1793 makes my eyes well up with tears
77. I seriously don't think I can come up with anything else... no... I MUST FINISH
78. I used to change my blog around so much... but I really really really really really want to figure out how to make my own blog header. And maybe have a complete, cute, blog re-design (Anyone out there that knows how to do this???? I see everyone else's blog and I'm always like "Oh em gee. I love it." Then I see mine and I'm like "Eh".)
79. I hate math. Ugh.
80. I LOVE ENGLISH
81. I am a pushover... I let everyone else get their way to avoid confrontation
82. If you're still reading... HI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
83. I don't like cantaloupe or honeydew
84. I should be doing something productive right now
85. I can't believe that I have already come up with 85 things about me
86. I try to be funny... but I don't think I really succeed
87. My dog is snoring right now
88. One of my dogs just had to have knee surgery
89. I want to have lots and lots of children when I get older
90. I have a pitiful amount of followers on Instagram
91. I don't like peaches... or nectarines... or mangoes...
92. I will only eat green grapes, no red
93. I put ranch dressing on everything
94. I think that when this post is done I am going to take a nap, even if it means that I don't sleep tonight
95. I should be cleaning right now
96. I'm almost done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
97. I am a stickler about "there, their, they're" and "too, two, to"
98. I shattered my arm when I was 10 and had to have surgery
99. When I had surgery on my arm, I had three pins that stuck two inches out of my shoulder... real attractive, I know
100. My dog just keeps snoring louder and louder
101. I AM DONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Saturday, August 17, 2013

The Blog Got A Facelift!!!!!!!

 The blog got a facelift! I finallllllllllllyyyyyyy figured out how to make a blog header. And I am extremely pleased. And check out the sidebar, I added a lot to it! So now I want to know... What do you think???

Friday, August 16, 2013

100

This is my 100th post!!!!!!! Where are the balloons? And the confetti? Hmmm... I'll have to have my people get on that.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Randomness

Wouldn't it be nice to have no time pass while you are asleep? You could get up after the longest sleep of your life and be able to pick that TV show right up where you left off. Unless, of course, someone else in this world was taking a nap... but I suppose that someone is always napping so you could never finish (or start) said TV show. Hmmmm... maybe this wasn't such a good idea after all...

Yes, I know that this has absolutely nothing to do with fashion. But... I just thought that I would give you all a glimpse of the weird stuff that goes through my mind... because... well... I don't know why. You're welcome :-)

Monday, August 12, 2013

Moving Tips

Today is going to be kind of random... and seeing as I have a lot of friends who are moving, and I myself moved about 3 (?) years ago, I thought that I would share some advice.

1. Organize If you do not organize stuff as you pack it, with VERY CLEARLY labeled boxes (ex. Charline's Winter Clothes) your life is going to become a whole lot harder when you go to unpack.

2. Clean out everything If there is stuff that you haven't worn in a year (or used in a year) then chances are you won't ever use it, so get rid of it. You don't want to bring a lot of unnecessary things with you.

3. Group like things together Winter clothes can go with winter clothes, summer clothes with summer clothes, makeup with hair stuff, etc.

4. Put all of the boxes in the right room before you unpack It will make things so much easier if you have everything where it's supposed to go before you unpack- things can get confused and put in the wrong place and then you just have a giant mess!

5. Relax Everyone around you is probably stressed, but the more stressed you become, the more tense things will be and the more likely that people are going to fight. And when people fight... things just get awkward and strained.

Whether you are moving, or you are going to move in the future, I hope that this helps you!

Saturday, August 10, 2013

Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Review

Soooo... I am going to post a review of the Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit- I purchased it in "Shell We Dance"

I am in love. Officially obsessed. Seriously. It looks just like the gel that I get in the salon- I've had it on for about two days now and it still looks perfect. I bought it at Ulta for about $70 I believe. Along with the starter kit, I purchased two other colors. Back to the Fuchsia and Greige.

I haven't tried the Back to the Fuchsia but I loved the Greige and the Shell We Dance. Shell We Dance is a really pretty, very light color, but it's  perfect for a natural look. You can see it, but it doesn't draw much attention. Have I mentioned that I am in love?????? Just in case I have not... I shall say it again. I am in love! Okay... now that that is over...

I will let you know how long it lasts. I am so excited about trying the other colors that they have! I hope to make a video review... but things have been so crazy around here, I'm not sure that I will have time! I will try though! Sorry that I have been so terrible about making videos, I really want to make them... I just never seem to have the time, and when I do have the time, I don't want to clean (even the small space that you can see in my webcam) and then make myself look presentable for a video... not that that is any excuse but still.

So, long story short, I would DEFINITELY recommend that you buy this. Seriously. Go. Now. It's one of the best purchases that I have made lately.

Have a great day, and I hope to be back soon!

I was in no way compensated to write this post, and all views and opinions expressed here were solely my own.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Of Poseidon

It's official. I am the worst blogger ever. Anyone still out there??? So so so sorry! Today is going to be really short- I am really busy. But... I would like to say that I am officially obsessed with a book. It's called Of Poseidon and it's written by Anna Banks. Agh... it was AH-MAZE-ING. I mean... oh em gee. I could not put it down. Literally. It was almost physically impossible... But anyway... go buy this book! It's awesomesauce!

I was not compensated in any way to write this post, these were all my real opinions.